Saturday, March 28, 2026

Rereading Books

Apparently some people think you should never re-read books, because, and I am summarizing, there are so many books out there to read, why would you ever waste time re-reading?

I do read a lot of new (or new to me) books, but for me one of the pleasures of reading is re-reading. I especially like to reread a book that I haven't read in years. It's kind of like parallax vision, maybe? I remember what I thought or how I understood a book when I was 20 or 30; how will I see or understand the same book now? I'm a different person now, so I understand the book/see the book differently.

I'd go so far as to say you haven't really understood a book if you haven't read it more than once. This is especially true for me, I think, because I read really fast (though I don't skim unless the book is terrible and I'm trying to see if it's worth finishing). When I'm gulping down a book because I want to know what happens, I don't always spend a lot of time thinking about what's happening. Re-reading lets me do that.

I also like to reread a book I've read maybe a dozen times. It's like watching your favorite movie or listening to a favorite song. I enjoy the beats and the scenes because I know them so well.

Recently I've discovered the joy of listening to a book that I've read a dozen times. The audiobook of Nobody's Fool, for example -- listening to that was such a different experience from reading it. Same for Jo Walton's Thessaly trilogy.

What about y'all? Do you re-read?



Friday, March 27, 2026

Spotted on Tumblr

If y'all aren't on Tumblr, by the way, you are missing out. It's the internet the way it was meant to be.

ANYWAY.

A German Tumblrist asks why Americans are so obsessed over "whether something is a word." Why are we like this, they want to know. They're talking about how certain speakers of American English get angry when a dictionary includes words like 'ain't' or 'irregardless.' Why? Why? they demand. Those aren't real words!

As a professor of the language, I have the answer to this question: It's because Americans love any excuse at all to be a bigot. 

I used to teach History of the English Language as well as English Grammar and one of the things I had to teach my students was that their "correct" English was a dialect of English, like any other dialect of English. It wasn't "better" than African American Vernacular English, or Bronx English, or Mississippi English, or working class East Coast English.

That is to say, Standard American English (what they counted as 'correct' English) does not communicate its meaning any better than, say, AAVE. In fact, in some ways, SAE communicates less well -- AAVE is really good at communicating aspect with its verbs, for example, which SAE mostly ignores. 

(I remember when I was first studying Greek. Greek verbs also pay a lot of attention to aspect, and my entire class could not wrap their heads about what this mean -- for us, 'perfect' was just another sort of  past tense, and what even was aorist? Raised speaking SAE, this was a concept we had real trouble grasping.)

Why then do so many people believe that SAE is "real" and everything else is 'slang' or ignorant or not even actually English? 

Because it lets them feel superior. It allows them to look down on some group -- to be bigoted in a way that feels approved of by their culture.

Let me tell you, I too used to wince when someone said something like, "I have already ate," or "Mom took Tim and I to the state fair last week." That was before I actually knew something about how language works. Now I find these regional difference -- like "Anymore you can't find eggs for less than ten dollars a dozen" -- fascinating.

Anyway! My point, and I do have one, is that anything which communicates meaning is language. For example, I love saying things like "irregardless" and "ain't" and "we might could finish this tomorrow," just to jar people a bit.

"Ain't?" they will exclaim. "Irregardless? Those aren't words!"

"But you know what it means," I point out. "If I say, I ain't eating no more pie, you know exactly what I mean, irregardless of what you claim."

And they do. So why does this upset them, someone with a PhD who says irregardless? 

It's cognitive dissonance. They know I'm educated, they know they can't treat me like trash, and what does that mean about this thing they have been counting on, that their ability to speak SAE means they're better than people who say things like "I seen her at Walmart"?

It's like people who think being an American makes them better than people in other places. When they find out that people in other places actually have good lives, and are good people, some of them better lives than many Americans in fact, cognitive dissonance. It was the one way they could feel superior. Now what do they have?

See also people who think that being a certain religion, or having a certain skin color, or being a certain gender makes them 'better.' When anyone suggests otherwise -- that tantrum they throw, that's cognitive dissonance. If they don't have this way of being superior to other people, then what do they have?

I mean, they could accept that being superior to other people isn't something they need, or even should want, but it takes a great deal more enlightenment than most of them will ever have to come to that realization.



Thursday, March 26, 2026

Headaches Again

 As I think I mentioned, I pretty much always have a headache. Usually it's a low-grade ache around my temples or behind my eyes. But -- as now -- when the weather is changing, I have a first-class banging headache that makes me want to lie in bed and whimper. Nothing really helps. Sometimes a shower does. But not usually.

I have taken Motrin and a Tylenol. We'll see how it goes.


Wednesday, March 25, 2026

Retirement

Dr Skull and I had a lovely outing last night -- we ate at one of our favorite restaurants and then went to the bookstore and bought more books. We discussed traveling to various cities, which he wants to do and I am less eager about. As y'all know, my favorite thing to do is stay home, read books, and write books.

A day trip to Tulsa I could probably manage. 

Though I am slightly jealous of what the kids are doing in Maryland -- day before yesterday they went to the Smithsonian Natural History Museum and yesterday they went to the Smithsonian zoo. I think today they are driving to Philly to visit an art museum.


Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Spring Break

This town is deserted during Spring Break, which I have to admit I'm enjoying. No lines at the grocery store. No traffic on the roads. There are fewer dogs at the dog park, which I'll admit is a drawback.

Dr Skull and I are having our long-delayed anniversary dinner at the Southern Food Company this evening, that's our celebration for the Break.

The kid and his husband are having a great time in Maryland, and Dr Skull has decided to steal their cat. "This is my cat," he keeps saying. "I'm not giving her back."

Rosen, the Cat in Question


Monday, March 23, 2026

Babysitting the Grandcat

 There are actually two grandcats, but they're not getting along, so one is staying with us

and the other I visit every day.

The kids are in Maryland, visiting their friends who live there. They'll make a sidetrip to Philly. I'm hoping they don't get caught up in all this lunacy with Trump and the airports.

Sunday, March 22, 2026

Whaaaat!

Okay, I'm interested.



It doesn't seem entirely accurate, since Odysseus could honestly have given a fuck about his men, but other than that it looks epic. I might even see it in the theater. 

UGH

It was 72 degrees when I took the dog to the dog park at 7:30 a.m. High of 90 is predicted today.

Tomorrow is supposed to be cooler, but I'm already in my dread-summer mode.

Brought to you by Global-Climate-Change-is-just-a-Myth.

Saturday, March 21, 2026

The Pitt and ICE

If you're not watching the Pitt, we're already into Season Two. This is a show in which each season takes place in a single day -- Season Two is the fourth of July. Every episode is one hour in that day.

There had already been a nod toward Trump's brutal immigration policy, with a young Haitian woman who has custody of her ten year old brother. The parents, seized by ICE at their immigration hearing, had been deported. The kid blew two of his fingers off off playing with fireworks with other kids in their housing complex. "Wouldn't [the kid] be better off with his parents?" a clueless first-year student asks.

July is when you want to avoid hospitals, FYI. It's when all the new students, doctors, and residents start their year.

Anyway, on this week's episode, Thursday night, ICE agents showed up dragging a tiny woman in plastic cuffs. She 'fell down the stairs,' they claimed, and injured her shoulder. The ICE agents were huge men in masks, barking orders and refusing the leave the woman alone with the doctors. Eventually, abruptly, they decided to drag the woman out before her treatment was complete, and when a nurse, Jesse, tries to intervene, they tackle him, cuff him, and drag him away too.

It was extremely upsetting, and -- according to viewers from Minnesota -- extremely accurate.

As you can imagine, MAGA cultists are crying and screaming about the episode, which was filmed months ago, way before Minnesota kicked off. I doubt any of those throwing tantrums actually watch the Pitt, which is really for people who are smarter than most MAGAs. (I mean, who isn't smarter than a Trump supporter at this point?) But they're offended and this is treason and also propaganda.

Weirdo losers. Let's hope they shut up and faded into rightful obscurity post-Midterms.




ETA: See also this.



Spring Arrives

Spring is arriving in Fayetteville just in time for Spring Break. All the flowering trees are flowering; all the other trees are putting out bright green leaves. The grass is coming up silky and thick and green as the leaves.

Today we're expecting a high of 90, which is a record high for this date. Same tomorrow. After that, it might cool off (like, highs in the 70s) for a little while.

The kid and his husband are flying to Maryland to visit friends there. I'm babysitting one of my grandcats while they're gone. 

What are my plans for Spring Break? I'm going to write a lot and read a lot and take the dog to the dog park. Maybe Dr Skull and I will have lunch at a fancy restaurant one day.

I'm living in paradise.




Thursday, March 19, 2026

Evangelical Cultists and Pedophilia

Another Duggar son has been arrested for sexually assaulting a child.

At some point, we have to recognize that Christian Cultists are a true danger to children and act accordingly.

ETA: Yes, this is slightly ironic. It's what Christian Cultists say whenever someone even tangentially related to or involved with a trans person commits a crime. Though it is worth noting that far more "Christians" commit crimes, sexually assault children, and shoot people to death than anyone trans or trans-adjacent does. Also more white cis men. 

The advice, by the way, from the Christian Cult on how to stop your sons from sexually assaulting their siblings and other small children? Don't let boys change diapers, make sure your small children don't run around naked after their baths, and teach your tiny daughters how to wear dresses without being 'immodest.' These are children under the age of three, by the way. How *do* we keep young men from sexually assaulting infants? It's a puzzler.

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

My Actual Birthday

It's today! I can't believe how old I am. Or rather, I can't believe how young being 66 seems. I remember at 16 thinking 33 was old. Ha!

Anyway, here is an update on what being old is like:

Every day, something new aches. Right now it's the tendon I bruised during the snow storm and also my spine. ("My spiiiine!" I cry often.) A week ago it was my hip, after I slept on it a little too long one night. Sleeping! Sleeping gives me injuries now.

I wake up early now. Not at five a.m. as I was when we first moved here, but I'm up and dressed by 7:30 most days. Partly this is the dog, who begins demanding his walk around 7:00. But also it's because I'm in bed by 9:30 or ten most nights. Me! Who seldom managed to sleep before 3:00 or 4:00 a.m.!

I'm eating a lot more cake than I used to. I'm sure this isn't good for me, but on the other hand, who's going to stop me?

I spend a lot of time in doctor's offices. Mostly this is for Dr Skull's appointments, but some are also for me.

I take exercises as seriously as I did when I was 30, when I ran a couple miles every day and also took my dog for a three mile walk most days. Some of my aches arise from this, but most are because I'm ooooold.

I love being retired. Day after day with nothing planned. I lie on the couch and read books. I take the dog for at least two walks a day. I go to the library. I write whenever and as much as I like. I never have to teach composition again. There's plenty of time to do laundry and the dishes. (It's amazing how much less annoying dishes and the laundry are when you aren't exhausted and also you have plenty of time.)

I am extremely glad I don't have to depend solely on my social security. Medicare, on the other hand, is wonderful. I got a lengthy statement in the mail yesterday for all of Dr Skull's home health care, and the big news was on page one: "Amount you may owe: $0.00."

Granted, this is only because we can afford to pay for Part B and Part G, but still.

I'm liking being 66 a lot, I guess is the conclusion here. May it long continue.

He just wants to sit in my lap all day long, is that so much to ask?



Monday, March 16, 2026

It's My Birthday

 Well, not until tomorrow. But we had a party yesterday, with order-in Italian and this:


A leaning-tower of carrot cake, which I made my own self, since Dr Skull cannot make cakes at the moment. I am not a fifth-generation baker, as you can probably tell. Still, it was tasty. The cream cheese frosting was especially good.

The kid and his husband and one of their grad school friends came over; also Uncle Charger. We had a good time. Next week is the kid's spring break and he and his husband are flying off to Maryland to visit friends. Maryland is where the kid plans to move if the situation does not improve in Arkansas.

The kid painted this for my birthday:


Jasper and my little cat Junti, may her memory be a blessing, cuddling together for once.

It was 20 degrees and wimdy when I took the dog to the park this morning. There were two big dogs there so he had someone to run with.


Thursday, March 12, 2026

Huckleberry Sanders

Sarah Huckster Sanders, our current governor, spent yesterday bragging about how she is going to force every public university and public school in Arkansas to install a Turning Point USA club. For the students.

(Student clubs are usually asked for, organized and run by students. This, clearly, will be something else -- enforced, organized, and run by the state. You know. Like Hitler Youth.)

In case you forgot what Turning Point USA is, it's a giant grift formerly run by Charlie Kirk, who was assassinated by a high powered rifle just at the very moment he was claiming gun violence was not a problem, and if it was a problem, it was only because a couple of trans people had shot people.

Turning Point USA exists to make money for those who are running it, to support Trump, and to hurt education. To be clear, they want to turn education into indoctrination for the MAGA point of view, with all its bigotry and hatred. 

They claim to be Christian, but it's a specific kind of Christianity: one that hates the poor, despises the immigrant, and wants to erase from existence anyone who isn't pretty much exactly what Kirk was: a podgy, smug, reactionary white cis guy. (Or "white male man," as Erica Kirk phrased it yesterday.)


Charlie Kirk, the grifter, is now dead. So now his wife, Erica, has abandoned her two children, ages four and two, to continue the grift. Sarah Huckster Sanders, who is grift all the way down herself, has happily joined hands with Erica.

After Trump is gone, all these losers will fall back into oblivion, their natural state.